NSS SD College A Unit of the N.S.S. was flagged off in the college in 1979 with Dr.KesavaPanikar as the first Programme Officer. In 1985, Prof.EeswaranNampoothiry of the Malayalam Department also joined as the Programme Officer. In 1987 Prof. S.Ramanand (Physics Department) took charge as the Programme Officer. During this period the unit came to be noticed for its involvement in the various social activities of the district .The University has acknowledged this and the unit is considered a model for others.This spirit of service is reflected in the activities of the unit today also.

The unit has received several awards from the State Government and the University. Prof.S.Ramanand, Dr.A.Subramanyan, and Dr.K.P.Ramachandran Pillai received the Best Programme Officer Award of the University of Kerala. Dr.K.P.Ramachandran Pillai received the award for the Best Programme Officer from the Government of Kerala. He was also selected for a special award during the year 2008-09 by the University. In 2009-10 the University selected this unit for a special award for the best unit and the Programme Officer Dr.T.R.Anilkumar was selected for a special award for best performance.This unit undertakes and performs all the regular and special activities as directed by the co-ordinator. During the past two years the unit has focused on Voluntary Blood Donation. The unit has organised more than 5 blood donation and detection camps in the campus and could arrange more than 700 units of blood from the students during these years. There is a Red Ribbon Club functioning in the college under the supervision of the Programme Officer Prof. P.S.Parameswaran. There is also a legal literacy club functioning under the N.S.S.Unit.



Present Programme Officers

Dr. J. Veena,                 Dept. of Hindi

Dr. Lekshmi S.
Dept. of Physics