Dr. N. Saraswathy Antharjanam, M.A., M.Phil
Sanatana Dharma College
Sanatanapuram P.O.
Alappuzha, Kerala
Email: sanatanadharmacollegeprincipal@gmail.com,


Sanatana Dharma College is a prestigious institution with rich heritage and tradition established in the erstwhile Travancore one year before the independence of our country. The College was established in 1946 by two eminent stalwarts of Alappuzha-Late K. Parthasarathy Iyengar and V. Sundararaja Naidu and is the oldest Aided College affiliated to the University of Kerala with A+ Grade in the third cycle of NAAC re-accreditation. The College is with 13 teaching departments and a students strength of more than 2000. We have 13 Under Graduate Programmes, 9 Post Graduate Programmes and 6 Departments are Research Centres of the University of Kerala. So far 17 Ph.D. Degrees were produced from the College: 9 in Botany, 7 in Zoology and 1 in Economics. Two Ph.D. theses-one in Botany and another in Mathematics are already submitted in the University of Kerala. More than 30 research scholars are currently doing research in various research departments. Out of the 77 permanent faculty members, more than 50 are with Ph.D. Degrees including a faculty member with Ph.D. Degree from the prestigious IISC, Bengaluru. Some of the remaining faculty are currently doing Ph.D. or already submitted the thesis. College Alumni is enriched with very prominent personalities in all walks of life including former as well as present Ministers, MPs, MLAs, Vice Chancellors, IAS, IPS Officers, Chartered Accountants, Scientists, Professors, Engineers, Doctors, Lawyers, Film Directors, Lyrics, Actors etal.